Guides
Credit union vs bank: what actually differs
Independent site, not the NCUA, a credit union or a bank. General information, not financial advice.
Enter your balance and two rates you were quoted. The difference is the part that a general answer cannot give you.
What is a higher savings rate worth?
Extra interest
$1,249
| At the first rate | $606 |
| At the second rate | $1,855 |
Enter the rates you are quoted: the defaults are examples, not market rates.
The federal consumer site draws the difference between a credit union and a bank around ownership and surplus. It describes a credit union as a not-for-profit cooperative owned by its members and led by a volunteer board, and says that, unlike banks, credit unions return surplus income to members as dividends. Both can offer savings, checking and loans, and both can carry federal insurance of at least $250,000: the NCUA’s share fund at federally insured credit unions, the FDIC at insured banks. A credit union also needs you to fit its field of membership. Whether a credit union is cheaper depends on the product and on the two institutions you compare, so the honest way to decide is with their actual quotes. Enter them above. The 4,214 federally insured credit unions in the file for June 30, 2026 hold $2.50T, spread very unevenly.
What does a lower loan rate save?
Saved over the loan
$1,698
| Monthly payment at the first rate | $608 |
| Monthly payment at the second rate | $580 |
Enter the rates you are quoted: the defaults are examples, not market rates.
Filings read by Radif Partners · Editorial policy · Method and sources
Side by side
| Credit union | Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Owned by | Its members | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Surplus income | Returned to members as dividends | “Unlike banks”, says the federal site |
| Board | Volunteers, elected by members | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Who can use it | People in its field of membership | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Federal insurer | NCUA share fund, when federally insured | FDIC, when insured |
| Limit | $250,000 per owner, per credit union, per category | At least $250,000 at each insured bank |
Where a credit union often makes sense, and where it may not
It suits those who qualify, who like a smaller institution, and who have a branch or a shared network nearby. It suits a borrower who gets a lower quote, and it can be worth it even for a modest loan, since a two-point gap on a $30,000 car loan over five years adds up to something real, as the second calculator shows. It suits a saver only if the gap holds after fees and minimums.
It may not suit a person who travels widely, or who wants a large branch network in many states, unless the credit union has one. A few of the largest do, and others rely on sharing. And if you do not qualify for any credit union near you, a route through an association may be available, on the terms in our list.
How to compare properly
- Ask each for the rate, the fees, the minimum balance and the term, on the same day and for the same amount.
- Put the two rates into the calculators, using the rate you are actually offered and not the best advertised one.
- Check both are insured, and how. For a credit union, this page shows how to verify it. For a bank, the FDIC’s pages cover it.
- For a credit union, read the capital and late-loan figures with the health check. For a bank, the FDIC offers its own research and data.
We cover the credit union side of this choice in detail, and the bank side only where an official comparison helps. The NCUA’s rate tables give the averages. This site does not rank banks, and nothing here is advice on where to keep your money.